Home / Roosterly Rants & Raves / What Is the Cost of Advertising Online for My Business?
What Is the Cost of Advertising Online for My Business?

What Is the Cost of Advertising Online for My Business?

When it comes to the cost of advertising online, there are many different options for your business to consider.

There’s your company website, e-mails, search engine’s such as Google and Bing, and the various social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. Each of these entities’ cost of advertising online is different. Sometimes vastly so.

For example, some of these outlets for marketing online use a pay per click auction model, while some may use a traditional, pay per ad model.

Of course, it is recommended to hire a digital marketing agency to guide your digital marketing campaign, but it’s still a good idea to have a basic understanding of how the cost of advertising online in the 21st century works as well as what is social media used for before going forward.

So let’s take a look at a handful of the different online advertising options you have.

What Is the Cost of Advertising Online for My Business

Website Banner Ads Advertising Rates

A banner ad is a carefully placed and creative box (hypertext link) which advertises a brand, product or service. These types of ads (well, all online ads) is one way most websites keep you from paying every time you visit a website.

As for the website banner ads advertising rates, this can vary greatly. But let’s take a look at generic rates and averages so you can have a general idea.

Banner ads have become more affordable since their inception, and the website banner ads advertising rates operate on a couple of concepts: cost per a thousand impressions (CPM) and click through rate (CTR).

An example: let’s say an ad costs $200, and the click-through rate of 10 will cost $20 each time someone visits your page through a click of the banner ad. But banner ads can cost as low as 50 cents per CTR, meaning you’ll get your banner ad displayed 1,000 times.

How Much to Charge for Advertising on an App?

Nowadays mobile applications (or apps) are trendy, so knowing how much to charge for advertising on an app is critically important because the marketing potential is mind-blowing. Consider this: over 100 billion apps were downloaded last year.

Yeah. So ads for apps operate similarly to banner ads (they even look and act the same way). Thus the advertising rates metrics are in CPMs. The range for CTRs for mobile apps is 53 cents to $1,12.

How Much Does Google Charge for Ads?

To answer the question how much does Google charge for ads, consider that the advertising model they use is Google AdWords, which operates on an auction system. This is important as Google AdWords rewards and encourages top-quality ad campaigns with ad placement priority and lower costs.

The simple answer to the question of how much does Google charge for ads is the average cost per click in the auction process is roughly $1-$2 on the search engine and under a buck on their Display Network.

What's the Cost of Advertising Online for Your Business

How Much Does Facebook Charge for Ads?

Let’s close on Facebook. The world’s most popular (and populous) social media platform is the idea for social media marketing campaigns which use their analytics and data to tailor marketing campaigns to individuals and location.

Facebook also works on a CPM and a cost per click model. So the answer (rough estimate, really) to the question of how much does Facebook charge for ads is an average CPC of 27 cents and CPM of just over $7.

That’s a lot to take in, so we encourage reaching out to a professional online and social media marketing agency to handle all of your digital marketing.

0 comments

Leave a comment